Parenting posts to inspire #fiveforfriday

I’ve been going through a tough parenting phase these last few months, mainly caused by extreme lack of sleep and week upon week of illness. Throw in some dark, cold winter days and add a dash of adjusting to life with two kiddies and you have the perfect recipe for feeling down and dreary.

Thankfully, things are looking brighter again now. At the time, though, it felt relentless; I was struggling to find any enjoyment in my days and I was constantly doubting my abilities as a good mum.

One of the things that really helped me to get through was reading blog posts acknowledging the hard parts of parenting. It’s not easy to admit when we’re finding things tough but, wow, it makes such a difference to realise you’re not alone in struggling sometimes. I found the ones below to be particularly inspiring, so I thought I’d share them here.

1. I came across this blog post on rediscovering happiness in motherhood at exactly the right time. This was the article I needed to read, not least as I could have written the first part, which made me feel a whole lot better and less alone. Plus I loved the ways she rediscovered her happiness; the idea of recognising which season of parenthood you are in was like switching on a lightbulb for me.

2. This is such a moving post on leaving the baby and toddler years behind. I can relate so much as it’s something I’ve been thinking about a lot as Little Miss A approaches 4 and school age. I often catch myself looking at her in awe these days, wondering where my baby went and feeling so proud of the girl she has become (despite the exasperating moments!). And it’s a great reminder as we weather sleep deprived baby days second time round to hold onto the precious moments even amidst the tough spots.

3. This post is called When does it get easier and it brought tears to my eyes. First, as I really had been asking myself that same question for a month or so. Then in recognition at the truth of the words of this experienced mum. And finally with the truth that parenting is overwhelming at times no matter who you are and there is a solidarity in the universality of that experience.

4. I love finding posts like this one on when you are tightly wound. The whole thing resonates but this part jumped out at me in particular: “By 9pm, I have no words left. I just want to sit in the dark… and not have to think any intelligent thoughts.” It may be a physical impossibility but I have been both so tightly wound and wrung out by the evening lately that it is all I can do to collapse in relief on the sofa. It’s nice to know I’m not alone in this. And: “You can never turn parenting off”. Just so true.

5. It’s their day too is a great post to read when you need a shift in perspective. I often feel like I’ve got to the end of the day (week… month…) without achieving a huge amount. This really made me stop and think about my expectations and what I define as a ‘good’ or worthwhile day. I may not always be super organised and productive. We might not be laughing and doing fun activities from dawn to dusk. But every day has valuable moments. And, if nothing else, I think this sums up perfectly some of the core essentials of a parent’s job: “I kept two kids alive and fed, and we played and both of them are sleeping safely in their beds tonight and that made it a pretty good day.”

Have you read any inspiring parenting blog posts recently?

#fiveforfriday

#fiveforfriday is my weekly round up of all sorts of bits and bobs – from blog posts I’ve been reading to themed crafts and activities to favourite products to the random things I’ve been pondering!

 

Leave a Reply

