Christmas with children

I love Christmas – and that has nothing to do with the presents! (Or maybe only a little bit…) The decorations, the music, the food and, most of all, the family time really do make it the most wonderful time of the year for me.

But it has become extra special since having children. Our first Christmas with ToddlerGirl was so exciting – even if, at four months old, she had no clue beyond gazing at the pretty lights and shiny wrapping paper! – and it just keeps on getting better each year.

Now she is three and I have a feeling it will be the best yet. She knows all about Santa Claus and his reindeer, loved decorating the tree, and takes opening the next door of her advent calendar very seriously as we count down to the big day. The anticipation is already at fever pitch!

We’ve also been enjoying lots of festive activities, such as a trip into town to see the lights and Christmas market, a visit to an amazing grotto and a drive by to find yet more lights. We did all these things last year but it was definitely more for mummy’s benefit then! This year I love how she really ‘gets’ it and it’s brilliant seeing it all through her eyes.

Today, we had a Christmas sing-a-long at her preschool.

It was the first time she’s been in anything resembling a ‘show’ and I was so proud to be there. Not because she did anything outstanding; pretty much all the children looked a bit bewildered as they were shuffled into place and sort of sung the Christmas songs, probably wondering why all the grown ups were beaming at them! But it marked a real milestone as I realised it was the first of many shows to come and that my baby is growing up fast. Suddenly, she’s a proper little girl, taking part in sing-a-longs and everything!

The children all looked so cute in various festive headgear, ToddlerGirl sporting a reindeer headband. She went a bit off piste with the actions, attempting to coerce another girl to dance around in their own little circle! But she made an excellent reindeer at the front of Father Christmas’s sleigh for the finale, a very enthusiastic Jingle Bells. She held onto the reins, shook them vigorously to sound the bells and even added in some pretend trotting – what a performance! I had the biggest smile on my face watching and a wee tear in my eye.

BabyGirl adored every minute, straining forwards on my lap as if trying to hurl herself right into the middle. She had nearly as big a grin as me!

We still have a couple of parties to go to before heading to stay with my parents for the main event. It’s safe to say I just can’t wait! With it being BabyGirl’s first festive season and with ToddlerGirl throwing herself into the celebrations, I think Christmas 2014 is going to be one to remember.

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

4 Comments on “Christmas with children”

  1. Kim Carberry says:

    Aww! How lovely! Christmas is such a special time when they are younger!
    Have a wonderful Christmas and all the best for 2015 x

  2. Aww what a lovely post. Sounds like ToddlerGirl’s first play was wonderful, I’m amazed you managed just a wee tear. I think I sobbed through our son’s first nativity – as you say it is such a milestone. I hope you all have a lovely Christmas and thank you so much for linking up to Christmas Countdown.

    • Thank you :) Ahh, I can’t wait until she’s in her first actual nativity! This was just a little preschool singalong to some Christmassy tunes but so lovely all the same. Have a happy Christmas yourself! x


Leave a Reply

