Liebster Award :)

Liebster Award

I’m chuffed to have been nominated for a Liebster Award by the lovely blog, What Katy Said.

I think the idea behind the awards is great: a way to get to know other bloggers better and to discover new blogs. There is more information about the Liebster Awards here but basically, if you accept the award, you should:

◦Link back to the blogger who tagged you
◦Answer the questions they set for you
◦Nominate ten other blogs and write ten questions for them to answer (and let them know about their award!)

So, here are my answers…

Q1: If you were a biscuit what biscuit would you be?

Hmm, I’m not very good at these type of questions! I asked my husband and he said it would have to be something with nuts in it, charming! I was thinking a chocolate Hobnob spread with Philadelphia cheese, as it’s a mixture of sweet and savoury and a little bit weird perhaps…

Q2: What was the last (non-kiddie) movie you watched?

Edge of Tomorrow – Tom Cruise in a kind of sci-fi Groundhog Day type film. The husband and I got out to the cinema for a date night a few weeks ago, thinking it would probably be our last cinema visit for a while once the baby arrived! The film was great; I love going to the cinema.

Q3: Have you ever broken a bone? How did you do it?

No, I’ve managed to keep all bones intact so far… Although I did used to want to break one as a child to get a cast that everyone wrote on!

Q4: What does a normal day in your life look like?

Well, we don’t have a really set routine but this year, up until a few weeks ago, a normal day would likely have been 6/6.30am start with my daughter. She always comes into bed with us, sometimes goes back to sleep, otherwise is bribed with cbeebies on the tablet for half an hour or so! Then breakfast, some mad running around to get out the house (as I’m never organised enough to prepare the night before). Recently, probably also some clothing battles with my threenager girl… Some sort of activity in the morning, an attempt at a nap around 12ish (only if she fell asleep in the car and could be transferred onto sofa!), a breather for me, then lunch and probably a quieter afternoon at home or maybe seeing friends. Tea around 5.30, then bath and bed at (hopefully) 7.30pm, sometimes later depending on the nap. Exhausted sighs of relief from us parents and some grown up time :) Bed for us too late every night, despite best intentions!

This has all changed with the birth of our second child two weeks ago… There is no normal right now!!

Q5: What TV program represents your childhood?

Hmm, things like Going Live!, Cities of Gold, Dogtanian and the Three Muskahounds (“Juliet! Juliet!”) – and Philip Scofield in the broom cupboard with Gordon the Gopher.

Q6: What has blogging taught you?

To jump on any time available to write and not worry too much about what comes out to begin with – it can always be edited and rewritten, but it’s better to get something down on the page than stare at a blank screen waiting for perfection to strike! (Definitely my problem pre-children.)

Q7: Do you cook? If so what is your signature dish?

Sort of… I cook standard family meals for us but nothing with a real ‘wow’ factor. My favourite dish to do for house guests that looks a bit different but is actually very easy is Mexican lasagne. It’s basically chilli layered in a dish with tortillas and lots of cheese!

Q8: Who was the last person to make you laugh? Why?

My little girl generally makes me laugh at least a few times every day – even on the days when she is also driving me nuts! Today, she’s been playing with a huge Happyland dinosaur we hired from the toy library and feeding it some tasty morsels in the form of her Happyland people arranged in cups, which made me chuckle!

Q9: What is the naughtiest thing you have ever done?

Ummmmm, is it a good thing or a bad thing that I can’t really think of anything off the top of my head?? All that springs to mind is skinny dipping on holiday in Greece many moons ago. I’m sure there must be other things…!

Q10: If you could go anywhere in the world where would it be?

Ooh, that’s a really tough one. Travelling is one of my favourite things to do (although I haven’t done as much since becoming a mum). I would love to do the Inca Trail in Peru, go on safari, see the pyramids, revisit Australia and New Zealand… But, actually, top of my list right now would be the west coast of Ireland, where my gran used to live. She passed away earlier this year and I miss her so much. I always loved visiting her in Ireland, she lived in an amazing spot. I haven’t been there for years and feel a little homesick for the area. I’d love to take the girls there one day soon…

Q11: What is your dream?

A happy family life with me working from home doing lots of writing would be pretty great. And, the ultimate dream would be to have a book published one day…

Here are my questions (sorry, my sleep deprived baby brain could only think of six!):

  1. What inspired you to start blogging?
  2. Where and when do you write your blog posts?
  3. If you were stranded on a desert island, what three items (other than loved ones!) would you want to take with you?
  4. What is your favourite book – and favourite children’s book?
  5. If you had a day to yourself and could do anything or go anywhere, what would you do?
  6. What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever been given?

And I nominate The Knott Bump and Us, Mud Mud Marvellous Mud and Becoming a Stay at Home Mum :)

2 Comments on “Liebster Award :)”

  1. katy says:

    Great answers! I could have written the same for so many! I love dogtanian!! Got it on dvd from my dad a few years ago! I too wanted a cast for friends to write on but have never, touch wood, broken a bone. xxx


Leave a Reply

