Winter beach fun

With our lovely long hot summer this year, we spent a lot of time on the beach, either on holiday or at home. I’ve been feeling a bit sad that it is over for this year but then I had a bit of an epiphany the other day when I realised that, durr, having fun at the beach doesn’t have to be confined to the warmer weather.

Winter beach fun - cuddles & muddles & muddy puddles

When we woke up this morning to a beautiful shining day, I decided it was the perfect opportunity to take ourselves down to the coast. It was a very cold day, so we wrapped up in lots of layers with gloves, scarves, hats and, importantly, wellie boots. ToddlerGirl was really excited to be going to the beach and couldn’t wait to get out of the car, getting cross when I took too long to find a parking space!

The sunshine made the water sparkle invitingly but the bitter cold wind reminded us that it is actually November. Well, me at least. ToddlerGirl asked me several times if we could go swimming in the water and I had to explain that swimming in the sea is something we only do when it’s hot!

We did spend some time making footprints in the sand with our wellies and looking at the other prints that had been left there, including quite a few paw prints as the beach is used by dog walkers in the winter months. There was also a lot of seaweed to examine as well as shells scattered across the sand.

This all provided merely a diversion for ToddlerGirl, however, as the lure of the sea was too great. We soon found ourselves at the waters edge, watching the gentle waves lapping against the shoreline and putting our feet into the shallows. This really took me back to childhood days at my grandparents’ house in Ireland, dipping wellie-clad feet into rockpools and sloshing around in the streams of water left behind when the tide went out. I could certainly understand the appeal for ToddlerGirl, who was fascinated by the experience.

We found some stones to throw into the water, listening for the satisfying ‘plop’ as they disappeared underneath the surface. I had to restrain ToddlerGirl going in to fish them out, of course… We also spotted a live mussel, shell clamped tightly shut, with several little tendrils coming out to cling onto some stones. I showed this to ToddlerGirl and explained in the simplest terms I could what it was, before putting it carefully back where we had found it.

Just as I was thinking it was time to head to a nearby café to warm up, ToddlerGirl managed to end up on her bottom on the wet sand… Uh oh. That is when I realised that I really am a most disorganised mummy as I didn’t have a change of clothes or even a towel with me. She wasn’t very happy to have a wet behind, so I whisked her back to the car to grab the only thing I had to change her into, her waterproof pink trousers. Lesson learnt, next time I will be sure to a) have her in waterproofs from the beginning, b) bring a towel, and c) bring a change of clothes. I wasn’t intending her to get at all wet but, let’s face it, I should have expected it with an adventurous two year old!

We ended up in the seafront café to enjoy a drink and a snack and admire the sparkling view from the warmth of indoors. Wet bottom notwithstanding, we had a lot of fun visiting the beach on a winter’s day, something we will most definitely be repeating.

5 Comments on “Winter beach fun”

  1. Kierna says:

    I love the beach in Winter! So glad to have found your blog xxx

    • Aww, thanks! I don’t know why I haven’t been to the beach much in the winter before – we had such a great morning! I’m thinking we might try our hand at some fossil hunting in the new year :)

  2. Mudpie Mama says:

    We love the beach in the winter! One of the best times to go I reckon :-)

  3. […] Cuddles and Muddles has inspired me to make a Christmas Beach visit and although we might have to do this between Christmas and New Year rather than over Christmas itself I think this will be a lovely tradition to start. We all love the beach and our favourite spot is bound to be even more secluded at this time of year. […]


Leave a Reply

