Loving our library stash

I am such a geek. When I was younger, I used to at least try to pretend I could be a cool person but once I hit my late twenties and into my thirties, I accepted, even embraced, the truth that I am in fact more than a little geeky. There are several ways this manifests itself but the most obvious is my book obsession.

The more you read, the more you'll know

A few telltale signs include:

  1. I don’t like to shop at all – but I will go hop, skipping and jumping into a good bookshop for a poke around. Just the smell of all those lovely books on the shelves gets me excited!
  2. I will actually let out a squeak of excitement when I spot a title I have been waiting and waiting to come out in paperback (I do not get on with hardbacks; too heavy to hold in bed!)
  3. On a recent (and rare) treat day out to myself, I didn’t do lunch with friends, head to the shops (see above) or relax at a spa – no, I headed to a local-ish literature festival, which I thoroughly enjoyed!
  4. A regular and favourite activity with ToddlerGirl is a trip to our local library to replenish our book stash

Yes, I do love a good book and I am determined to at the very least encourage an interest in reading in ToddlerGirl. So far, she definitely enjoys books and I think our weekly library trip really helps.

We came back today with a lovely load of new books to explore this week. I was feeling particularly excited as I’ve discovered a whole new section in the children’s library with some interesting looking non fiction titles for little ones, looking at topics such as nature, science, feelings, jobs. (Yes, these are the things in life that I get excited about… I told you I was a geek!) So, added to my armful of books were:

  • Signs of Winter, which has some very simple details about the wintertime along with photographs depicting winter scenes and a sweet poem at the end
  • Seasons (photowordbook), which uses photos to show different elements of the four seasons and looks like it will be useful to help put concepts such as ‘autumn’ and ‘winter’ in context
  • Tree (DK eye know), which on first glance is a really lovely book covering the life of a tree, animals that live in trees, the structure of a tree and trees through the seasons

These books are on a shelf rather than in our book basket as they are not as robust as the fiction books and probably best used under supervision. I’m planning to incorporate them into some nature-based activities, so I’ll hopefully be updating on how we’ve used them in another post. I’ll definitely be rooting around the non fiction shelves on future library visits.

Also in our library stash this week are some books ‘just for fun’, which we’ve been enjoying a lot already:

  • Have You Ever Ever Ever – so much fun to read aloud! ToddlerGirl loves it.
  • The Singing Mermaid – Julia Donaldson with glittery pages. Need I say more.
  • The Gruffalo’s Child – more Julia Donaldson, perfect for approaching winter and for exploring shadows.
  • Peppa Pig and the Biggest Muddy Puddle in the World – ToddlerGirl adores Peppa Pig so this is a good alternative to whip out when she is wanting us to watch it on the TV.
  • Slinky Malinki’s Christmas Crackers – too early to start on the Christmas books? I think we can sneak the odd one in here and there!

So, there you go, in full bookish geekery glory, that is our current library stash, which I am loving. On a side note, it has been lovely to rediscover the pleasure and usefulness of libraries since having ToddlerGirl. I spend far more time there now than at any other point of my adult life since the university years!

Come on, your turn to share. What’s in your library stash at the moment?

Leave a Reply

