Autumn books for babies

It is BabyGirl’s second autumn but I was far too overwhelmed as a new mum last year to really notice the change in seasons! This year, however, I have decided to start exploring the seasons with her through some simple activities and board books. As we are now in October, I have been hunting for suitable books that reflect this time of the year.

Autumn books for babies

Hmm, this has not proven to be as easy as I thought! Many of the titles I came up with are American and refer to ‘fall’, which I want to avoid. There also seems to be a surprising lack of autumnal stories out there for babies/toddlers, with the majority of the books coming up in my search probably more suited to school age. This is a real shame as I think the season has great scope as the backdrop for a lovely baby book, both visually with the use of lots of gorgeous colours and linguistically with the crunching, rustling, twirling and whirling of leaves. Not to mention the sweet animal characters that could be included. Authors and publishers take note!

However, I have found a few that I think sound worth a read.

Ferdie and the Falling Leaves, Julia Rawlinson
Ferdie the fox is dismayed to see that the leaves are falling from his favourite tree. He doesn’t know this is a natural part of autumn and he promises the tree that he will rescue all the leaves. Of course, he is not able to save them and he feels very upset as the last leaf drops – until he sees the tree the next day. This sounds like a really lovely book for little ones. I did dig out a copy of this at our local library but it is paperback and seems a bit too text-heavy for BabyGirl so this is one I shall be keeping on my mental ‘to read’ list for next year.

Maisy’s Year
This board book doesn’t just focus on autumn but it does introduce all the seasons and sounds lots of fun for babies with flaps to lift and wheels to turn.

Leaf Man, Lois Ehlert
A man made out of autumn leaves is being blown by the wind over various scenes, passing lakes, fields, ducks and cows on his way. The particularly lovely part of this, though, is that the illustrations are made from actual leaves. The pages I’ve seen look beautifully done and I think this would really capture the imagination as BabyGirl gets older. It’s pretty expensive, so I’ll have to see if I can find a copy in our library before deciding if it’s worth the investment!

We’re Going on a Leaf Hunt, Steve Metzger
I’m in two minds about this one… On the one hand, there is the fun element of heading out on a walk to discover the autumn leaves, which could also inspire some leaf hunting of our own. On the other hand, I wonder if it will feel a bit of a poor imitation of We’re Going on a Bear Hunt, a book both BabyGirl and I absolutely adore. The jury is out – if I can find a library copy, I think it would be worth a look.

Autumn, Gerda Muller
I love the sound of this book as it has no text, just illustrations of the various aspects of autumn. This allows for a lot of creativity in describing the pictures. I can imagine BabyGirl pouring over the pictures and pointing out all the details to her. This is the closest book I could find to the autumnal stories I was imagining. It may not have any text but it sounds like the illustrations will provide plenty for us to look at and talk about. I have ordered this and am really looking forward to reading it with BabyGirl! I’ll post a review once we’ve had a good read of it.

I’d love to hear from you if you have read, or been inspired to read, any of the books in our autumn selection. Or if you have any other recommendations, as I did struggle to find baby/toddler books featuring the season as a theme!

Leave a Reply

