Playtime Pinspiration: Activity Advent Calendar

It’s the most wonderful time of the year… I am full of the joys of Christmas to come and have been excitedly planning ways to celebrate the season with ToddlerGirl. So when I came across this idea on Pinterest for creating a type of activity advent calendar (1), I was sold!

Activity advent calendars

The basic concept is simple: create a list of Christmassy activities, one per day in December. How you then display this is entirely up to you and your creativity. Since spotting the initial blog post, I have seen quite a few of these from various bloggers. There are some really great ideas out there. Some of my favourites include:

I’ve already missed the beginning of the month and I don’t have a huge amount of time this year to set anything elaborate up, so I have opted for printing out my list on nice-ish card and cutting into 25 business-card-size pieces, which can be slotted into the pockets of my lovely fabric Christmas tree advent calendar (that my Mum gave me for my first Christmas at university!). I’ve pinned all these wonderful ideas for next year though and will have to do something more imaginative then.

In the meantime, it’s been a lot of fun plotting our month’s worth of activities. There are of course all the traditional things: decorate the tree, go to see the Christmas lights in town, attend a carol concert, eat mince pies and drink mulled wine (that last one’s for mummy). Then there are some activities just for ToddlerGirl and I, such as making a Christmas discovery bottle and a Christmas decoration for the tree, and some things for us to do as a family – go for a long wintery walk, snuggle up and watch a Christmas film, sing and dance to cheesy Christmas music. And some reminders of the most important things to do this season: celebrate with friends, spend Christmas Day with loved ones, make a special Christmas charity donation.

I’m sure this will become a lovely family tradition. I particularly like the fact that the activities don’t have to be expensive or elaborate – in fact, the majority on our list are all about enjoying simple pleasures with family and friends. And as ToddlerGirl gets older, I will definitely add activities such as choosing a gift to wrap up and donate to a children’s charity, to help teach her in a gentle way about thinking of others.

I’ll let you know if we make it through all the ideas on our advent list :)

New Year Update: Well, we had a pretty rough December with lots of illness and no sleep, so there were some items on our list that we didn’t get to do unfortunately, such as my idea of a romantic night ice skating under the stars with D at the Royal Pavilion in Brighton. Humph. But we did manage to have a lot of festive fun despite this and I will definitely be revisiting the idea later this year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers